Skip to content

RoadTrip

A UK road trip is planned for the early autumn. This will serve a number of purposes. As far as the project is concerned, I hope to be able to meet a number of experts based in the regions, as well as people using a variety of powers – active trade union members, members of political parties and related institutions, campaigners, protestors, protectors, the people behind new institutions, renters unions, whistleblowers and others besides. All will have something to say on our situation, as well as suggestions as to my itinerary and much else, I am sure. I also hope to visit a selection of interesting sites, and institutions, including a selection of industrial and residential sites – of current or historical significance – and centres of learning from the Eden Project and Schumacher College in the South West, to universities across the country. Time will be left for discovery too. The emphasis is therefore on the research objectives, and local or micro- illustrations of wider themes, rather than open-ended adventure. A possible itinerary is outlined below, which will be updated on an ongoing basis.

My means of transport is a seventeen year old motorcycle – a Honda VFR800 – complete with tank bag (laptop, documents, audio mic/recorder etc), and tail bag (wardrobe inc wet gear). You may have already noticed it, and/or Yorick, my crash helmet, if you have browsed some of the images on the site. I am travelling alone, on a limited budget. I am hopeful of and would be very grateful for in-kind (board and lodgings inc secure parking, laundry) and/or financial help. I will seek it in the first instance from contacts in my own network, and some of those I intend to meet. I will likely also pack a tent and sleeping bag. I hope not to have to use them. If you would like to consider making a donation, details are given here.

I should probably make two points in relation to this choice. First, I am not making any claim or effort as to originality. It is supporting the project and represents the cheapest means of getting around the UK, such as it is, in the way I need to (I am not a millionaire). I have a long, if unusual, relationship with motorcycling however, and, as someone who grew up with the Brighton Speed Trials, and Barry Sheene, and who read Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, The Motorcycle Diaries, and more recently discovered Rural Rides, there’s something in it for me too. Second, I hope it shows that there is no necessary contradiction between liking or identifying with at least some fossil fuel technology and recognising that all our fossil fuel systems are legacy technologies which must be decommissioned urgently. I would very much like future generations to be around to hear a Rolls Royce Merlin, a BRM V16, or a Norton Rotary, though it is likely they will not find such things particularly interesting.

ITINERARY

 

E N G L A N D  :  S O U T H  W E S T

Advice :       Rob Hopkins. Prof Daniela Gabor. Dr Jo Michell. Dr Yannis Dafermos.

Case Study : electoral power (Independents For Frome)

Thu 7 Sep     Eden Project (Bodelva). Totnes. Schumacher College (Dartington).

Fri 8 Sep       Independents For Frome (Frome).

Sat 9 Sep       People’s Republic Stokes Croft (Bristol). Bristol (Observation).

W A L E S

Advice :         Dr Jane Fisher. George Monbiot.

Case Study :   industrial power (UNISON/Royal College Nursing)

Sun 10 Sep    Cardiff.

Mon 11 Sep   Centre for Alternative Technology (Machynlleth).

Tue 12 Sep     Ysbyty Gwynedd (Penrhosgarnedd).

E N G L A N D :  W E S T  M I D L A N D S

Advice ???

Case Study :    electoral power (Momentum West Midlands)

Wed 13 Sep

Thu 14 Sep      Momentum West Midlands

Fri 15 Sep

E N G L A N D : N O R T H  W E S T

Advice :           Prof Kevin Anderson. Prof Andrew Sayer.

Case Study :    moral/physical power (Preston New Road Action Group).

Sat 16 Sep       Manchester (Observation).

Sun 17 Sep      Preston New Road Action Group ( ).

Mon 18 Sep

N O R T H E R N  I R E L A N D

Advice  :           ???

Case Study  :    financial power

Tue 19 Sep

Wed 20 Sep

Thu 21 Sep

S C O T L A N D

Advice :            Craig Murray. Andy Wightman.

Case Study  :    financial power (Glasgow University)

Fri 22 Sep         Glasgow University (Glasgow).

Sat 23 Sep         Edinburgh (Observation).

Sun 24 Sep

E N G L A N D : N O R T H  E A S T

Advice  :            ???

Case Study  :     moral/physical power

Mon 25 Sep

Tue 26 Sep

Wed 27 Sep

E N G L A N D : Y O R K S H I R E  &  T H E  H U M B E R

Advice :              Prof Kate Pickett. Prof Webb.

Case Study  :      campaigning organisations (Yorkshire CND)

Tue 28 Sep          York.

Fri 29 Sep            Yorkshire CND (Leeds).

Sat 30 Sep            Sheffield (Observation).

E N G L A N D : E A S T  M I D L A N D S

Advice  :               ???

Case Study  :        New institutions

Sun 1 Oct

Mon 2 Oct

Tue 3 Oct

E N G L A N D :  E A S T  O F  E N G L A N D

Advice :                 Prof Tom Shakespeare. Jack Monroe. Prof Ha Joon Chang.

Case Study :          electoral power (Norwich Green Party)

Wed 4 Oct             Norwich Green Party.

Thu 5 Oct              Cambridge.

Fri 6 Oct                Southend.

E N G L A N D :  L O N D O N

Advice :                 Prof David Graeber. Prof Ronen Palan. Prof Anastasia Nesvetailova. Prof Richard Murphy. Mark Curtis.

Case Study :          non-industrial unions (London Renters Union)

Sat 7 Oct                London (Observation).

Sun 8 Oct               London Renters Union ( ).

Mon 9 Oct              new economics foundation. Green New Deal Group.

E N G L A N D :  S O U T H  E A S T

Advice :                 Prof Tim Jackson. Colin Tudge.

Case Study :          whistleblowing (Mr Ethical)

Tue 10 Oct             Mr Ethical (Hastings). Earthship Brighton (Brighton).

Wed 11 Oct           Guildford.

Thu 12 Oct            Real Farming Trust / Campaign for Real Farming (Oxon).